Doing what it takes…

I have a motto, “I have done worse for less”.  I try to remember this as often as possible, especially lately. 

Having over ten years experience and a stack of certifications doesn’t seem to matter much these days.  SO  I have made some concessions to the regular working program, ie after over year of being laid off, thousand or so resumes, I have resorted to doing what it takes. 

In this case that means taking a lowly call center position at a home warranty company, getting yelled at all day by pissed off home owners and redneck contractors.  I think I actually talked to Fog Horn Leghorn today.  I say, I say, boy! You’se a chiggen haawk! 

But, in the words of my good friend Tom, “it is what it is”.  Normally I don’t buy into vagueities and clichés statements but at the end of a day I don’t have a brain cell left that isn’t screaming for a scotch and a Valium, so the effortless and mindless are comforting at points.

Though I am not terribly proud of this job, it is work, which is hard to come by these days.  Wether it be doing this or that, I have a personal level of proffesionalism and competence that are intrinsic to me.  It is what allows me to look in the mirror and not cringe with disgust.  I have to maintain a level of personal respect in order to roll out of bed in the morning. 

So my rambling point is this – what ever you do, be it sweeping floors or signing checks, do it well or don’t do it at all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

